E - governance in Orissa Motor Vehicle Department

Orissa Motor Vehicle Departmet is pioneer in using Information Technology for providing citizen centric services. Computerization of department started 3 years ago with the issuance of Smart Card based Driving Licence & Registration Certificates along with computerization of all the managerial functions of the Motor Vehicle Department.

Gradually all the processes of the Transport Department are being computerized and the data is made available through Internet or SMS for access by citizens. Orissa is the First state to successfully implement Vahan & Sarathi along with integration of Smart Cards

With about 15 lakh vehicles registered and annual generation of Rs 280 crore (2003-04) revenue for the State exchequer, the administrative machinery of the road transport department of the State of Orissa functions in a multidisciplinary approach. There are 26 RTO’s distributed geographically in the state of Orissa keeping the public convenience in mind and vehicle population within the region.

There are also three Range offices viz. Central Range, Southern Range and Northern Range located at Cuttack, Berhampur and Sambalpur respectively headed by Deputy Commissioner, Transport

Tender Document for Operation and Management of HMV Driver Training and Road Safety Institute

Project Information Memorandum & Management Agreement shall be available on payment of fees of Rs 10000 in form of a demand draft in favour of Orissa Public Private Partnership Technical Society payable at Bhubaneswar